Category: Premierships

C-Grade – B&LCA A3 Premiers, 2011/12

Sandy Creek fielded two teams in the A3 competition of the B&LCA in 2011/12. The main side, Sandy Creek Green, ended the season as undefeated premiers, winning all 14 minor round games and both finals, making it back-to-back A3 premierships for the mighty Cockatoos! It wasn’t all beer and skittles though and the Grand Final

PDCA – Women’s Black 2011/12 Premiers!

The Sandy Creek Women’s team have run away with the 2011/12 premiership in emphatic style! After winning the toss and sending Modbury in, they rolled the opposition for just 74, then chased the runs down inside 17 overs. Congratulations! Jess Schirmer top scored with 28 not out and took 1/13 from 3 overs, while the

B-Grade – B&LCA A2 Premiers – 2010/11

Topping off an excellent 2010/11 season for the Sandy Creek club, the B-Grade side won the A2 Grand Final in convincing style with an outright victory over minor premiers Light Pass. Light Pass would have been full of confidence, having defeated the Cockatoos twice in the minor round, then winning the toss and batting in

C-Grade – B&LCA A3 Premiers – 2010/11

Along with the B-Grade, Sandy Creek’s 2010/11 C-Grade side upset the minor premiers in the big dance. South Gawler had defeated Sandy twice in the minor round and won the toss in the Grand Final and opted to bowl, due to a strong bowling attack led by McCracken and Dare. However, this was a decision

PDCA – Women’s Black 2009/10 Premiers!

The Sandy Creek women’s team won the 2009/10 premiership against Playford, chasing down their total of 133 with 4 wickets to spare. Player of the Match was Ashlee Morrow, who not only top-scored with 33 but also had the best bowling figures, with 1/16 from her 4 overs. Premiership Captain Kelly Elson was also a

A-Grade – PDCA Grade 4 Premiers, 1988/89

After some middle of the road seasons for most of the 1980s, Sandy Creek finished bottom of Grade 3 in 1987/88 and were demoted to Grade 4 as a result. This proved to be a blessing in disguise and resulted in a major turnaround for the club on and off the field. The Cockatoos appointed

A-Grade – PDCA Grade 3 Premiers, 1979/80

Sandy Creek A-Grade were the Grade 3 premiers in the Para District Cricket Association in 1979/80. Batting first, Sandy Creek set Virginia a decent chase, with a first innings total of 192. Kim Knight top scored with 59 and John Warner wasn’t far behind with 50 not out, but other than that the only other

First PDCA Premiership – A-Grade, Grade 4, 1961/62

Sandy Creek won their first Para Districts premiership in their fourth season in the competition, 1961/62. Coming from nowhere after a quiet start to the season, the Cockatoos won the semi final easily, with their tally of 300 runs more than double Willaston’s 9/144. In the Grade 4 Grand Final, Sandy Creek continued their fine

First Premiership – 1934/35 – Gawler and District A2

Sandy Creek won their first premiership in their third season, with a victory over One Tree Hill in the Gawler and District A2 Grand Final of 1934/35. Defending 188, thanks largely to 57 from opener Snow Causby backed by a wagging tail, Sandy Creek ripped through the lower half of One Tree Hill’s batting to